Executive Board

The Executive Board of Rail Freight Corridor North Sea - Baltic, as referred to in Article 8 of Regulation (EU) 913/2010, has been established on 20th March 2012. The Joint Declaration of Intent Regarding the Establishment of the Executive Board of Rail Freight Corridor North Sea – Baltic was adopted by all ministries of the Corridor on the 22nd of November 2019 integrating the representatives of the ministry of transport from Latvia and Estonia in the Executive Board and replacing the Agreement regarding to the Executive Board of Rail Freight Corridor North Sea-Baltic adopted on 8 October 2014;

The Executive Board is composed of representatives from the Ministries responsible for transport of Belgium, the Netherlands, Germany, the Czech Republic, Poland, Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia. Currently representative of the Polish Ministry holds chairmanship of the Board.

The Executive Board takes its decisions on the basis of mutual consent of the representatives of the authorities of the Member States. The Executive Board takes decisions which are made possible by provided for by the Regulation; these decisions are legally binding and directly applicable. They are signed by all the members of the Executive Board and are published.

The Executive Board decided to have an alternating chairmanship. The chairman maintains a close working relationship with the Management Board in order to ensure an optimal work flow. The Executive Board's meetings take place alternately in every corridor country at least 3 times per year.



The European Commission is also taking part in the Executive Board work as the EC representative participates in the meetings as well as representatives of Regulatory Bodies, and National Safety Authorities.